Cooking

Sourdough Pretzel Rolls

A few years ago my husband found a recipe for pretzel rolls.  It is made with conventional yeast, however, it is a relatively simple recipe.  Tonight, my youngest was raging on how her lunches were always the same things…. and it was making her lunch box smell like hummus, peppers and lunch meat…  She could not articulate what she wanted instead, just something new and different.  (I have to admit that I have a hard time with this as I ate PB & J sandwiches everyday for my entire life… and she only has school 2 days a week.)  However, when you are a sensory, sensitive kid, it gets to you. I had sourdough that was going to be bread.  While brainstorming with my husband and my older daughter, they were missing pretzel rolls.

So I came home and looked at the recipe.  Easy peasy.

Start with fresh starter.  When I get mine ready for bread I use 1 cup of starter, 1 1/2 cup flour and 1 1/2 cup water and let it sit overnight or in this case all day.  Probably about 8-10 hours ish… When its all happy and bubbly, I take out 1 cup of starter to return to the sourdough crock and then proceed with the rest of the starter which is somewhere around 2 cups.

To this 2 cups of starter you add 1 tsp salt and 1tsp sugar and enough flour to make a nice dough.  It was more than 2 cups and less than 3.

Once it is a nice dough.  Elastic and not sticky.  Cut the dough into 8 equal portions and form into balls and flatten slightly and cut an X with a serrated knife in the tops of the rolls and allow to rise. (Make sure you are using a well floured tray or one lined with parchment or a silicon.)   Mine took about an hour or 1 netflix show to rise.

Once risen, bring a pot of water to boil and preheat the oven to 375.  Once water is boiling pour in 1/4 cup baking soda and 2 Tbs sugar.  The water will bubble up and fizz.  Then add several rolls.  My pot will hold 4.  Boil them for 30 sec per side and place back on the tray.  Complete with the remaining rolls.

Brush with an egg wash and sprinkle with coarse salt.  Bake 20-25 min or until golden brown.

20161205_203922.jpg

Leave a Reply

