Cooking

Peanut Butter Pancakes… and early mornings.

imag1441.jpgMy children, well the older two, now have morning swim practices…. My son has to be at the pool at 5:30 am two days a week.. I live 15 to 20 min away.  So we have to be awake at 4:45 to get him there.. Ok, we could wake up at 5:00 but then he would be swimming without food.  My daughter wants to swim for the High School girls team…  That practice is at 5:00 am M-F so we are now practicing getting up early..  I woke her up at 6:00 am yesterday.  Her response “What time is it and why am I awake?”  She thinks 6:00 is early wait until it’s 4:30.  Did I mention they practice in DIFFERENT pools!

So I have started waking up early… in some ways it’s nice.  I get the whole house to myself.  I can work out early.  Blog, check email, drink coffee, feed the sourdough.  Which is when I realize we need to make some pancakes.  Luckily, this is a day where they are getting up and I don’t actually have to take them anywhere.  We are just getting our bodies used to it.  Anyway, back to sourdough… Also on the counter is Peanut Butter powder….hmmm peanut butter pancakes???

I wake up daughter.  How about Peanut butter pancakes? “Yum she says..” Son stumbles out of his room… “Peanut butter pancakes?” I ask…. “Yum he says on the way to the shower.”  So far, they don’t have enough peanut butter powder… So I am adding more.

Peanut Butter Pancakes

2 cups sourdough starter

2TBS honey or sugar

2TBS oil

1 egg

2 large scoops  approx 4 T (or more of Peanut Butter powder – one scoop was not enough)

1 scoop of plain whey protein (this is optional… I sneak it in where I can)

1tsp salt

1tsp soda

After the second scoop of Peanut Butter powder we got a mild peanut flavor.  It probably needs more.  It will have to experiment with it further…. but it wasn’t a bust.  The older two are scarfing them down…

 

Leave a Reply

