Uncategorized

Hibiscus… not what I expected

So I have had these Hibiscus blossoms which I have saved to use for a dye.  Not a lot of them, but enough I thought to make a light dye bath.  My Friend Ric dyes with these blossoms all the time.  EVERY time they come out this really nice green.  Did I mention EVERY time?  Here are the samples from a class I took from him several years ago.

20130711_095749As you can see, green.  So imagine my surprise when I got, a rusty, reddish brown color.  I have no idea what went wrong.  Did I not cook the dye long enough? It simmered for around two hours, were my blossoms too old?  I am so frustrated, because this is not really a great color.  I am going to over dye it I think with mountain mahogany root to try to make it more red and more usable.

20130711_095304

So Ric, If you are reading this, any tips would be helpful!!!  It’s not horrible, but just not green!  Which is really what I wanted!

2 thoughts on “Hibiscus… not what I expected

  1. Dear Noddyknitter,
    As I mentioned in an email to you, I think the problem was not enough dark red flowers. The lighter colored flowers will sometimes yield different colors. The darkest reds make the most consistent greens.

Leave a Reply

