Spinning

Beautiful Bats

There are many reasons I love Ravelry. At the moment it is due to the very helpful people in the fiber processing group.  What I love is that you post  question and within an hour or less, usually, you get some very helpful suggestions.  In my case, I have been having such a hard time carding all of my merino. It sticks to the carder and feels gunky to the touch.   The suggestion was to scour it as Merino has tons of lanolin that will gunk up the carder.

I happened to have a sample of some wool wash called power scour.  So I decided to give it a shot.  I was in shock at how much of a difference it made.  I washed probably about a half a pound of fiber which was about all that would fit in the bucket.  I let it sit and came back an hour later and WOW!  So much better.

Being in the desert is nice as it was all dry by the next day and I carded it up… 

In this case I think the picture speaks for itself.  It is spinning up beautifully.  I am giddy with excitement.  Now I just need to buy more of the scour stuff.  Next on tap is to try Dawn dish detergent to see if I get the same results.  It is cheaper and easier to obtain.

Leave a Reply

