Spinning

Finally some new spinning!

I have been spinning so much lately that I have not hardly been doing anything else.  However, this is some spinning I finished a couple of weeks ago.  I took a bit of a break from spinning alpaca for the ranch (mostly because I was waiting on some more fiber) and spun up some of my fiber club shipments.

Wendsleydale

The first is Wendsleydale which was indigo dyed.  It is really beautiful, however, not very soft.  Wendsleydale was the very first yarn I spun when I started in the AFKW fiber club.  It was kind of fun to come back to it after not spinning it for more than a year.  It is a very different fiber to spin.  It’s staple length is crazy long.  It also did not draft quite like the other fibers I have been spinning.  I have absolutely no idea what this yarn will become as it is really too itchy to be worn near the skin.

The second yarn I spun was a merino/silk blend.  It really turned out beautifully.  I enjoyed the whole process with that yarn.  The way the colors flowed, and the way they looked on the bobbins.  It was my first experience with silk and I have to say the idea of spinning with silk was way more scary than actually spinning it.  I now have 220 yards of dk weight and no idea what to do with it.  Although I really think it will become a scarf of some sort.

Kings Ransom - merino/silk blend

Leave a Reply

