Uncategorized

Addictive knit.

A woman in my knitting circle brought in this really great pattern for a beaded knit bag.  She went on to tell us that she had knit it in a class years ago in MN and that the pattern calls for 0000 needles.   I don’t have 0000 needles, but I do have size 0.  So I went to Hobby Lobby and picked out some crochet thread that looked likely and a large eye needle to string the beads and then came home and looted my daughters bead supply.  It took most of the opening ceremonies to thread the seed beads onto the thread.  It turned out I had not added quite enough beads.  The pattern calls for around 800.  There was no way I was counting that many beads, especially on what was essentially an experiment.  I ended up pulling off several yards of thread off the spool and threading more beads on the end.  The wide eye needle served to keep them from slipping off while I finished the knitting.

Charm Bag

The actual knitting of the bag was so easy it was ridiculous.  The entire bag took a matter of hours.  I had all but a handful of rows finished in one knitting session at my knitting group.  There are only 14 st across, the bag gets it’s shape from the number of beads you add per row.  This is such an elegant pattern.  The original pattern calls for you to make a twisted cord.  I decided to make a beaded eye cord.

This whole bag is only about 2-3 inches in all.  It is meant to be worn as a pendant.  I finished it just in time for my daughter’s 8th birthday.  She loves the glitz, and it is just the right size to hold a little treasure.

I am already planning on making this little bag again for several other little girls.  Also, I really want to do some other beaded bags as well.  This was such an eye opening knit.  So much fun!

Leave a Reply

