Knitting

My Helena Cardigan

I just finished my Helena Cardigan.  It has been sitting in my Ravelry queue for what seems like forever.   This was a really quick knit.  I loved the construction and how easily it was to knit it from the top down.  I also fell in love with the picot hemmed edge.  Such a nice finished look.  I opted not to use the ties and instead used buttons with overcast button loops.   The pattern calls for size 6 and size 2 needles… I just have to say, NEVER will I knit a dk on size 2s EVER again.  It is just tooo tight.  I switched to size 3 for the sleeve edging and the button band and was much happier with the way it knit.

I really loved the knit picks Cot Lin.  I had never knit with it before, but have been toying with using it for an adult sweater for some time.  I was worried as I had used the knit picks shine before and not been happy with the results.  Now that I have done this sweater, I feel much better about knitting an adult size in it.

To sum things up.  I really loved knitting this sweater and the way it turned out.  I will definitely keep it in my arsenal for baby gifts.

Leave a Reply

