Knitting · Spinning

New Year, New Goals?

The guests have all gone, I am in process of taking down all the holiday decorations, and the kids have started back to school.  That must mean we are in the new year and my month long break from routine is finished.  So now is the time to think about what I want to accomplish in this new year.

I have been really enjoying the world of knit design.  It was a bit startling, not to mention exciting, how many people have been interested in the braided tam.  It was a bit of a wake up call for me.  I had been toying with posting some of my patterns for quite a while.  Having that one take off was just what I needed.  So my first goal for the new year is to explore the world of pattern design and to submit some things to some of the online magazines and see what flies and what does not.  In conjunction with this goal, my VERY supportive husband surprised me and for my birthday got me my very own website.  I am producing patterns under the name of High Desert Fiber Arts.  Please visit my website . At the moment it is still a work in progress.   I hope to use it as an outlet for posting my patterns and other fiber related offerings.

Goal # 2 More spinning..I really want to master low twist singles.  I have made two such singles in the past month(sorry no pics up yet) and am very happy with them.  I would really like them to be a bit more thick/thin, but that is going to take a bit more practice, especially after spending the past year learning to spin an even single.

It seems that the more I spin, the more ideas for sweaters and hats and mittens pop into my head.  Which is great, because I have almost more hand spun than I really know what to do with.

Hopefully, this year is just as wonderful and full of opportunities as the past one was.

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Goals?

  1. HI Sara,
    love your blog, your perfect knitting and spinning.
    So wowed by your mastery of the spun fiber!
    I am looking for an easy shrug ‘bliss cotton aran’ to make up for my little Lucy. Love to have it button and also a knitted in band, not an added knit band if you know what I mean. I am just not that good at picking up stitches.
    love you,
    aunt linny

    1. HMMM we shall talk I need to make one for Lauren as well. In a more neutral color. Thanks for the compliments.
      XO
      Sara

Leave a Reply

