Knitting · Uncategorized

Braided Tam

On the road to holiday knitting, I decided to knit hats and mits for my nieces and nephews.  It may be a bit of a stretch to get them all done.  However, I fell in love with the tams I knit for the baby project I was working on.  So I decided that at least one of the nieces was getting a tam.  I really wanted to add cables.  What came out was this great braided tam.  Braided TamThe one pictured here was my first attempt.  It turned out great, but too small.  It was supposed to fit my niece who is 5 and it fit my two year old.  So back to Ann Budd’s book and the next size up.  I knit it again and it turned out perfect!  It was truly easy to make, the decreases are in the purl stitches between the braids.  The only hard part is keeping the cables intact while decreasing towards the top of the hat.  You just end up fudging a bit, but the end result is worth it.  Once I figure out how to attach a pdf document, I will post the pattern.

2 thoughts on “Braided Tam

  1. I LOVE that braided tam. I’ve made about40 hats this fall for family and friends, but no tams. I didn’t see the instr. for the # of stitches to cast on, etc. Did I miss that?
    Your knitting is lovely and fun! Do you know of a good balaclav pattern for men? I have a special need for a son-in-law with head/neck cancer.I’d appreciate an email directly to me if you know of such a pattern.

    1. Suzanne,
      The instructions are on the pattern page. If you click on the tab for patterns, there is a page for the maze hat and one for the braided tam. I will email you directly about what I have done in the past for a balaclava.

Leave a Reply

