Nature

And now….Snakes!

Like the black widows, I have been worried that I would find a poisonous snake and not be able to identify it.  Yeah, this is what I passed on my walk this morning. (Before you think I am really insane, I took the picture with my cell phone, which I always carry.  Probably not from a safe distance, however by then I was pretty sure it was not moving.)

Snake
Snake

Why did I ever think that I would not recognize it?  Unfortunately, I did not even see it until I was right next to it.  Which means that I had already pushed the baby right past it.  If you look in the bottom right corner of the photo, you can see the sidewalk.  We were definitely within the strike zone of this snake.  Luckily for me it was still dormant from last night.  It did not even move.  Thank goodness for that, because I had my dog with me as well.  If it had caught her attention, things would have gone really bad.

This is the second snake I have seen on my morning walks in the past week.  The last one was larger and now in hindsight, not probably a dangerous snake.  I saw that one before I got to it and turned around for safety.  People keep telling me this can be a dangerous place, but you get lulled into complacency.  I just really need to be more aware of my surroundings on my walks.

One thought on “And now….Snakes!

Leave a Reply

