Knitting

In honor of my Grandmother

When I was little, my grandmother would knit us mittens and these ski masks.  I had no idea that they were balaclava.  They were made out of whatever acrylic yarn she happened to have laying around and we wore them all winter.  I still have one and this year my daughter has been wearing it a lot.  It is bright bordering on neon yellow.  So when she asked me for one that matches her mint green and brown coat, I said why not.  The pattern seemed really easy and I have considered reconstructing the thing for years.  I had some beautiful mint green and brown Kathmandu Aran that I was considering using for a different project.  It is super soft and warm.  I think the finished project turned out great.

Leave a Reply

