Spinning

Spinning in Circles

It has been a really long time since I have posted.  I am still getting used to keeping a blog it seems.  The last few months I have spent experimenting with spinning and learning to knit those color work mittens.  Earlier in the year I joined the  A Verb for Keeping Warm fiber club.  Which is pretty much like a book of the month club only with spinning fiber.  I joined her Woolly Wonders club which is 4 oz of a different variety of non-luxury hand died fiber each month.  I joined that one because I have very little experience with different varieties of sheep.  I also don’t have a local source for fiber.  This gives me the chance to sample different varieties each month.  Even in the last 4 months, I have gained confidence and knowledge.  Here are some of the yarns I have spun.

The first is Shetland.  I made color work mittens out of the red half and plan on making a hat out of the second.

The second is Blue faced Leicester I am not sure what I will make out of that it is a worsted weight.

The third was my favorite.  It is Finn.  Spinning the pink was like spinning raspberry sorbet.  There is also a grey/brown skein of that.  The Finn is destined for mittens as well.

Leave a Reply

