Knitting

Mittens and other stuff.

I have been seeing all of these amazing patterns for charted mittens.  I was inspired as well as intimidated by the idea of knitting them.  After doing a search on Ravelry for mittens, I kept getting hits on these great mittens out of the book Magnificent Mittens by Anna Zilboorg.  As luck would have it, our local library has a copy and I was able to request it.  Can I just say, “AMAZING!”  I have not looked at enough of these types of patterns to know if her top down design is used by others but I really love it.  I am not fond of the cuffs she puts on her designs, but it is easy to knit the designs without them.  Her illustrations and instructions were easy to follow.  I am really hooked on this type of mitten design.  My kids keep fighting over who gets this first pair.  So I am definitely going to have to make more.  I may try to use my homespun “Fruit Loops” as one of the colors and black as another.  This pair is made from Knitpicks swish dk in storm and asparagus.  beginner-mittens-finished

Also, I got an email from a friend about  charity knitting project.  So I am knitting a Cap or two for the “Caps for Connor” project.  This link takes you to the Ravelry group for it.  It is a pretty cool project.  They are knitting hats for this boys entire school in order to support him in his fight against cancer.

Leave a Reply

